A cry for Gwyl Awst: The harvest time has come

Demeter by InertiaK

Children of the Star Goddess
We are the ones we have been waiting for.
The heated days of August are upon us
and though much of the earth is dry and parched,
It is time to reap the seeds that we have sown.

I call on you my sacred sisters and my magical brothers;
It is time to stand tall in the ripe and rippling wheat fields
and gaze into the infinite blue sky above.
It is time to absorb the warm caress of sun on your skin
and gather strength from the solid earth beneath your feet.

And when you gasp at the breeze’s kiss
and thrill to the currents of air that flow through your waving hair,
It is time to harness the passion in your heart
and call upon the spirits of your allies.

I call on you to go deep within and heal your spirit.
I beg you to open your heart.
Face north and harness the earth’s mighty power;
Face east and capture the wail of the raging winds;
Face south and seize the heat of the core and the passion of the sun.
Face west and catch the deep dark depths of the ocean’s waters.
Face center and manifest the magic and infinite spark of spirit.

And when you have gathered the elements to you
Stand strong with us all in the center of the Axis Mundi–the tree of life.
Together we will channel the power from our mother earth below.
Together we will swirl our spirals of energy to harness the vitality of the Stars above.
And we will sing in harmony as that divine magic surges up and through us
and showers down and upon us.

Sharpen your scythes
and ride your wagons into the fields my darling ones.

The harvest time has come.

Image credit: Demeter, source unknown.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A cry for Gwyl Awst: The harvest time has come

  1. I loved this Diane! I could visualize each direction I’d be gathering or soaking up or feeling in the depths of my core! Beautiful poetry by a very gifted writer. I feel the connection to my spirited sister!
    Keep up the fabulous work. I feel the healing! Love Trish

Leave a Reply

